Question Wii graphics card upgrade?

Hello BitBuilt!

I've been digging through these forums for quite a while now, but I've just only recently joined, so I guess you can say I'm pretty new around here. Some of the projects I've been seeing and reading about are really impressive, and this seems like an awesome community to me.

I've been doing a lot of research recently, as I have a few Wii's that I'd like to repurpose into a portable. I have very little experience with electronics, but I'm gradually learning and hopefully will start trimming my first board soon. I'm definitely a measure twice/cut once kind of guy. I plan on asking some more specific questions soon, but I want to wait and make sure I've looked everywhere first.

In the meantime, I wanted to ask if there has been any research into upping the graphics capability of the wii. So far it seems like the best that can be done is bypassing any analog conversions and convert the digital signal from the GPU to hdmi or component. But this is still a 480 resolution (which is totally fine, even on a 7" screen). I guess I was wondering if anyone has tried either pushing the graphics card to a higher native resolution through software/drivers, or finding a programmable replacement for it with more juice. As I've said, I have very little electronics experience, so I'm sorry if I'm asking about something that is laughably unreasonable (and if I am, I'm glad you were able to have a laugh at my expense).

Looking forward to talking with all of you much more!

JacksonS

Portables
I don't know much about the Wii graphics hardware, but I know it's embedded in the same die that handles many types of IO and overall system functions. Too modify/replace it would require creating a whole new Wii motherboard to accommodate different hardware and probably reprogramming all the IO from the ground up. That is assuming there even is some programmable hardware capable of handling Wii graphics and communicating with the CPU.