Worklog Pi-Xel

A few months back, I was thinking of my childhood and impulsively purchased a Retroid Pocket 2 for nostalgia after seeing all of the good reviews. To be honest, I was disappointed and has been in a drawer ever since.

It's a bit of a learning process for me as I don't know much about the pi and I'm still learning as I'm going, but the goal is to build something better and more capable than the Retroid.

Here is a quick list of features I'd like to have:

- 3 to 4 hours battery life
- 800x480 4.3" IPS display (Now changed to a 5" IPS)
- 24bit direct drive from pi GPIO
- LCD brightness control
- Front firing speakers
- Removable micro sd card
- Usb slot for transferring roms to micro sd
- Arduino micro as gamepad with switch sticks
- Modded RVL-PMS as bms

I'll be using Vita action buttons and Dpad.

Current state of top half:

Pi Top.png

Current state of bottom half:
Pi Bottom.png

This is the custom direct drive circuit. This is a preview of a board but will be a flex. It is designed to be soldered on the bottom side of the pi, as when the pi board is screwed down in the case, the bottom side of the pi will be facing up toward the LCD. I'm using a PT4103 as the backlight driver and will have dimming control via a potentiometer thumbwheel.

Screen Shot 2021-02-06 at 9.09.07 PM.png

f20868001a5bc5c5eb6b1d64b33a7372.png

I will be extending the micro sd slot from the pi to a simple custom board. An FFC connector will be soldered in alignment of the micro sd slot on the pi and connected to the board via an FFC cable.

5da3b9a663d5c4768d792a3362bec586.png