Question Best battery?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I have 100% decided that I will be making a Wii Laptop as my first portable. I have little to no experience with electronics, but i know the things I need to know, and all thanks to you!

So, I will NOT be making a laptop case for this, instead, I am mounting a screen in a wii. Even though i have some problems deciding, i will probably remove the disc drive and put there the motherboard of a 7" insignia portable dvd. I would prefer not removing the disc drive, but if it needs to be done, it will be done. But, since I am doing that, there will be no free space inside the wii, so ill just use an external battery. Any reccomendations? Weight isn't a big problem for me, what i want is battery life. Size isnt a big problem either.

If there are any better screens that do NOT make me remove the disc drive, you can reccomend me one, however, money is my problem, just keep that in mind

BTW: Some people I know say I always go off-topic too much. Why is that?......Yeah

Shank

Staff member
Portables
If you are using stock regulators:
Any 14.8v lithium ion battery pack from batteryspace.com should be perfect. Power consumption varies drastically from portable to portable. But for a rough estimate of battery life you can assume that a portable with a 40 or newer board will use 1 amp, and 01, 20, or 30 will use about 1.5 amps. Thats not exact, but it should put you in the ballpark of how big a battery you want if you are using stock regulators.

If you are using custom regulators: