Worklog Josh's first Wii portable

This is a copy of my reply in the noob questions thread and it serves as a nice intro:

Hey there BitBuilt community, I am a noob! I have never built a portable, however I've seen them around a lot. I have read a ton of articles, worklogs, guides, ebay product pages, forums, and instructables pages, and I would really like to construct my own. I have a fair amount of knowledge with electronics hardware, and a lot of knowledge of working with software, and I think I'm about ready to construct my own.
I think it's a fun idea to document my progress as I go along, and it's a good place to get handy feedback from a lovely community of experienced creators. I look forward to playing F-Zero GX on my train commute to class!
Before I jump into it I thought I would run my general plan by the experts of the craft and get some feedback. So here's what I know;

building a Wii is the best route to go, as I'd like to play Gamecube games as well as Wii games.
building a portable involves these steps,
Install Portablizemii
disassembling the Wii down to the motherboard,
trimming the motherboard so the system only contains the crucial pieces needed to boot and run games, as described in this lovely article: https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?threads/the-definitive-wii-trimming-guide.198/#post-1492 ,
relocating the pieces of the broken motherboard and reconnecting the pieces via wires so it can actually function once again, yet is far more compact,
giving it an internal, rechargable, and protected power supply,
connecting the video outputs to a small screen,
connecting the audio outputs to headphones,
putting tact buttons into the case of the portable, and connecting them to the system,
allowing the Wii to draw it's data from a USB or SD card, which contains the games and allocated storage space for game saves,
and ensuring that the system stays cool with a fan and installing an exhaust,