Worklog My First Portable Wii

Discussion in 'Wii' started by Daquantrius Johnson, Jan 24, 2018.

1. Daquantrius Johnson .

Ey B0is.

The plan:

-internal gc controller
    -wifi
    -frankencase (laptop 'cause they're awesome)
    -usb slots
    -sd card slot (mostly for brawl mods\ctgpr)
    -bluetooth
    -pth08080 regulator system
    -one of those 50/50 on actually working on arrival cheap chinese screens (mine works)
    -4 18650s
    -internal sensor bar

I've already worked for 2 years on a portable GC, so i'm not a TOTAL noob at soldering, sanding, or cutting (I got tired of working with those Nintendo-forsaken-boards). Does this plan sound feasible?

2. fibbef Wizardry V Completer .

Portables:
    Sounds totally feasible! Laptops are fun but I hope you have a good plan for the hinge as that’s typically the boon of clamshell designs. Otherwise I’m looking forward to progress on this!

3. Daquantrius Johnson .

Ok. Thanks for the fast reply. I might reuse one of those swiveling DVD player cases for the hinge.

4. jefflongo Broke BitBuilt Staff Member . .

Portables:
    You can totally do it. I was a total noob when I started too. Just requires a lot of time, patience, and willingness to read/learn. That said, you may want to reconsider Wi-Fi. There's not many things on the Wii that can take advantage of it and if you don't wire it up correctly (did I mention it's really finicky and not exactly noob-friendly to wire up) your Wii won't boot.

5. Daquantrius Johnson .

Couldn't i use the onboard connector and solder my 38 awg wires to the vias? (the trimming guide seems to show that almost all needed pins have vias) And with some magnification and an "I" tip soldering tinned wires to the vias or resistors doesn't look that hard. Also, I was planning on adding wifi in the pack then disabling it in the installation thus only causing the wii to crash with wii games, as Aurelio suggested. I NEEEED CTGPR IN A HOTEL OR SOMETHING.