Question Getting started on an Ashida - Trim and Power

deesil

I'm getting started on an Ashida build. It's my first time portablizing but I've got some soldering experience and equipment. I've also got a $100/mo allowance, and $250 bankroll.

I'm thinking I should buy a PMS-2 so that I can get the board tested after I cut it. This also would mean I wouldn't need to do the u10 relocation.

Do I need a PMS-PD as well? It might be useful for the USB.

Can I power the PMS-2 with a 5v wire run to a sub wall wart instead of using a battery?

My goal is to MVP this and spend as little money during this month so I can save up the next $100. I probably need to get some magnet and braided wire, and some sandpaper too and some other miscellaneous stuff.

What do you think is critical to go from an uncut Wii to a cut and tested Wii?

Shank

Staff member
Portables
PD2 isn't necessary, just adds extra, convenient features.

No, you need to have batteries connected to the PMS 2 for it to work, but you can charge those batteries through the PMS 2 using a 5v wall wart. 9-12v is more optimal, so the Wii's power brick would work perfectly for this.

Minimum to get a trimmed wii up and running, assuming you have RVLoader installed properly:
-Voltage regs (pms2 + battery + power supply)
-U10
-Video (composite for testing, to confirm it's working)

And to actually use it, you need these 2 connected:
-USB (to load games)
-Controller

Portables
working on No.1
I'm getting started on an Ashida build. It's my first time portablizing but I've got some soldering experience and equipment. I've also got a $100/mo allowance, and $250 bankroll.

I'm thinking I should buy a PMS-2 so that I can get the board tested after I cut it. This also would mean I wouldn't need to do the u10 relocation.

Do I need a PMS-PD as well? It might be useful for the USB.

Can I power the PMS-2 with a 5v wire run to a sub wall wart instead of using a battery?