Question Best Batteries for Beginners?

Hey all,
I'm very new to the modding scene and would like to try my hand at making a Wii handheld. I am currently making a plan for parts, but am unsure what battery setup I should have. While exploring the forums, I discovered that most use 18650 Li-ion batteries. However, I have heard that these are dangerous and expensive, so not the best for beginners. A google search just came up with controller mods. So, does anyone have a run-down on a beginner-friendly Wii handheld battery setup? I apologize in advance if this has already been asked, but I couldn't seem to find anything - just direct me to a different thread if it has. Help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you all very much,
PangolinPope

Edit: Oop, scratch that part about them being expensive... I hadn't actually looked at their prices, just heard that they were costly. My main concern is the, y'know, exploding factor. Advice on how to handle them and hook them up to a protection board safely should be all I need.

Last edited:
Hey all,
I'm very new to the modding scene and would like to try my hand at making a Wii handheld. I am currently making a plan for parts, but am unsure what battery setup I should have. While exploring the forums, I discovered that most use 18650 Li-ion batteries. However, I have heard that these are dangerous and expensive, so not the best for beginners. A google search just came up with controller mods. So, does anyone have a run-down on a beginner-friendly Wii handheld battery setup? I apologize in advance if this has already been asked, but I couldn't seem to find anything - just direct me to a different thread if it has. Help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you all very much,
PangolinPope