Keep using the original power supply on a Wii micro

Hi, I'm very new to this, but I got myself a memorex boomball in other words a gamesphere from Drake and Josh, and I want to put a wii inside, but I got a few things I would like to do, In this scenario keep the original power supply port since the brick fits inside and I was able to adapt it to use the Boomball's default cable.

Boomball.jpeg

I was thinking to follow the normal trim that keeps most of the back ports and just solder the last two cables from the custom regulators into the port pins but I'm not sure.
trim_OMG.png

Also I would like to keep the gamecube memory card ports if possible, could i take ones from a dead wii board and wire them up to the ones on the main board to place them somewhere else, and if so, can it be done with the gamecube controller ports? So they are not in a straight line but each one can be placed freely.

To be as specific as possible, take the ports form another console, separate them, and wire them to the trimmed board's own line of gamecube ports, or I can just separate the ones from the main board?

Thanks for your help.

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
You can do all of this, but you might run into long term reliability issues by using the 12v power supply with custom regulators. The Gamecube controller ports are all electrically isolated, so you can cut the plastic housing between the ports to separate them and mount them however. The memory card ports can be relocated or replaced with the Gamecube console individual ports, it's just a lot of desoldering and wiring to do.