Worklog First N64 Portable - N64HH Build

Portables
Over the past month I've been gathering together the things I need to do an N64 build. I am finally ready to start a worklog now that I have most of the necessary parts. I wanted to start with what I have done so far up to this point. This post might be a little scrambled and all over the place, hopefully it serves as a good update.

I first started with the main open source boards for the N64. I knew I would need the RVL-PMS, N64 Amp, and PIF relocations boards.

I wanted to redesign the RVL-PMS to get rid of the 1v, 1.15v, and 1.8v lines since they aren't needed for the N64. I have never done anything with KiCad before and it took me a little while to learn how to move things around properly. It was fun to modify a design, but I think it would be sweet to make my own pcb from scratch now. Once I had something I thought would work I sent off my order for the PCBs.

Screenshot 2024-01-03 at 3.44.40 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-12-07 at 9.26.10 AM.png

This was my first time ever buying blank boards and populating them by hand. The N64 Amp and PIF boards were done by hand and I did the PMS with a stencil. I wanted to try out some soldering methods that were new to me. After doing both methods I would say the stencil is the way to go. It was much faster and easier with less need for reworking after blasting the components with the hot air station.

IMG_3702.JPG
IMG_3743.jpg

IMG_3724 (1).jpg
IMG_3727.JPG

IMG_3744.jpg