Question Ashida Wii Help

Hi everyone! I’m new to the console portabilizing world but have been working on my first portable for about a month: an Ashida.

I’ve managed to build a fully functional Ashida with one major issue: no button (or stick) inputs. I believe this has something to do with my gc2.0+ wiring, be that the actual gc2.0+ wiring itself, or the ground, 3.3v, or data line running to the Wii.

At this point, I’ve confirmed that I have continuity and voltage (~3.25v) from the Wii to the gc+ pcb for ground, 3.3v, and data. I’ve also confirmed that I have no shorts on my gc+ pads or shorts between any of the pads on the pcb (as ugly as some of the soldering may look).

This problem is interesting because I originally had button and stick input (as evident by my ability to have navigated to the settings menu) but when I opened the console up to work on some things, I lost button functionality.

One interesting thing I found out is that my GameCube controller data line has no continuity from the via to the RA1 pin. Maybe this has something to do with my issues.

Im wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to what may be causing my button/gc+ issues. Pictures are attached (please forgive the lack of R+/R- speaker wires. I’ll be reattaching those shortly). I will gladly answer and questions that you all may have. Thank you in advance for your time.

Attachments

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
just so many i am so cool
My guess would be an issue with the data wire. It sounds like you've checked for continuity there, but sometimes the act of closing the case or shifting it causes the connection to loosen up. If your screen is working fine then it's likely not a voltage issue, so I'd recommend just redoing the GC data line

Sounds like you've been pretty thorough with your troubleshooting, good luck with getting it finished!

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables