Question Wiring the disk drive to the GC motherboard?

Portables
I know that Wii portables are superior in almost every way, but I already have a GameCube I wanted to portablize.
I'm relatively new to hardware modding, but have succeeded in wiring video and audio to the GameCube motherboard. The two things that are still very confusing for me (and I have put many hours into trying to figure it out) are wiring a controller, and wiring the disk drive.
How should I wire the disk drive to the GC motherboard? How have you guys done it in the past?
Any and all help is appreciated.
Thanks!

Madmorda

Painting Queen
Portables
Oof I did that :) If I remember correctly, I just broke off the connectors and wired maually each wire back to where it used to connect. It was a mess, but it has been working fine for over a year

cheese

the tallest memer in town
Staff member
Have you trimmed your board at all? If it's completely untrimmed, you can use the board that is in the front and wire with this pinout that bentomo made a while back. If not, you'll have to wire to the points further back on the board.

As for the disc drive, do you intend to use some kind of modchip or an original drive? Ripping off the connectors and wiring the points back together is the easiest way to relocate the original drive. Otherwise you'll need to use some kind of pinout (and potentially a breakout board) to wire your modchip to where the drive connected.

Portables
Have you trimmed your board at all? If it's completely untrimmed, you can use the board that is in the front and wire with this pinout that bentomo made a while back. If not, you'll have to wire to the points further back on the board.