Question Wii Trimming

I am in the progress of creating my first portable wii. I have the case, the wii, the controller buttons, the screen, basically everything i need, but i have a problem. When i took out the wii, it was too large to fit in the case. I am using an untrimmed wii because i have no electrical experience and no finances to buy extra wiis if i break a couple motherboards. Is there any part of the wii i can cut off without having to move and solder components to free up space?

Shank

Staff member
Portables
Short answer is no. The Wii circuit board is several layers, and cutting off parts of the board, even if they look blank, could sever lines. Cut lines can make the regulators throw a hissy fit and refuse to boot.

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
just so many i am so cool
Ok thanks anyway. Is there another way around my problem that u can think of?
There's no free one. You'll either need to trim or buy a different case. What case are you using?

Shank

Staff member
Portables
Ok thanks anyway. Is there another way around my problem that u can think of?
My recommendation is to either trim your board using the guide, and wire up custom regulators, or use a bigger case.

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
My recommendation is to either trim your board using the guide, and wire up custom regulators, or use a bigger case.
There's no free one. You'll either need to trim or buy a different case. What case are you using?
Dang, I think our brains must be connected stronger than a ShockSlayer soldering job...

I am trying to use a wii u gamepad case. How impossible would it be for me to trim my wii if i have 0 computer tech experience?

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
I am trying to use a wii u gamepad case. How impossible would it be for me to trim my wii if i have 0 computer tech experience?