Question WII portable tips

Kirbo

Portables
None..... Yet
Hello any tips for a newbie as myself thinking of trying the louii (when he updates the files) or the Ashida when I get money since those are the portables that interest me the most. I have some experience in making custom gameboys but portables are a entirely new field for me. So tips?

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
Best tip I can give is to buy solder and flux from a reputable brand like Kester. You'll be doing a lot of soldering, so using good quality solder and flux will save you a lot of time, and also make it much easier to form good solid joints.

That and to make sure that you've tested RVLoader and all the relocations you intend to perform before trimming your Wii, and to make sure you trim a bit outside the guidelines to give yourself room to sand the board. Many a time have beginners trimmed on or just inside the lines and ended up severing essential traces and components.

Approach everything with caution and commonsense, don't cheap out on tools and parts, and ask all the questions you need. We're here to help!

Kirbo

Portables
None..... Yet
Thank-you. I already have a good solder iron the Hakko FX888D gear and a good screw driver kit I just need a good dremel. But thanks for the tips :)). I will post a work-log when I start doing my louii

I have the version of wii that isn’t backwards compatible with the GameCube, and how would I trim that for the G- Boy rev 3 opposed to the original Wii

CrazyGadget

Crazy Helpful, CrazyGadget
Portables
???
I have the version of wii that isn’t backwards compatible with the GameCube, and how would I trim that for the G- Boy rev 3 opposed to the original Wii