Solved Wii motherboard not booting anymore/clicking sound

nastys

Hi everyone! I've been building my first Wii laptop for the past 6 months or so. It was almost done but then it suddenly stopped working. It was working fine until 2 days ago, but then I brought it to a party and when I tried to power it on, the LED stayed red and I could hear a "clicking" sound (~3 times/second while holding the POWER button). The "clicking" probably came from this coil here (I can even feel it with my finger):
View attachment 2958
At first I thought that's what was causing the issue (considering it accidentaly bumped against a plastic part of the laptop case) but then I tried swapping it with another one and it made no difference at all.
Without the coil, if I press the POWER button, the green LED lights up but the PSU cuts the power immediately. If I bypass the coil (by bridging the 2 ends), the clicking sound remains. Of course, I have disconnected everything from the motherboard.
View attachment 2959 View attachment 2960
Pressing the POWER button on the Wiimote does nothing at all, while pressing the EJECT button it "clicks" a bit faster.

The motherboard (6-layer, 3rd revision) is untrimmed and I'm using the stock PSU and regulators. Priiloader is installed, but not the non-WiFi IOSes, which means I can't use the OM6 trim anyway.

I cannot afford another Wii or motherboard, nor 3 Texas Instruments PTH08080 regulators.
I need this laptop for a school project, which is why it's urgent (although I could just present something else if I can't fix it in time).

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Shank

Staff member
Portables
Ive had this issue before. Unfortunately, your regs are fried. The regulators are not well understood, so there is no known way to replace it. Other than the motherboard, how far along is the project?

nastys