Discussion Wavebird clone spotted

Going to derail for a second.

With the release of 8bitdos NES and SNES Bluetooth receivers I have wanted to get my hands on N64 and Gamecube copys. Gaining these receivers would mean every Nintendo controller (or a quality Bluetooth knock off of) with the exception of Gamecube, can work on every Nintendo console.

I feel chasing after these third party Wavebirds is a waste of time; if the GameCube had a Bluetooth receiver, we could easily re-shell an existing Bluetooth controller into the Gamecubes shell. I also miss rumble

I have found a guide on creating a PS2 Bluetooth receiver that communicates with PS3 and 4 controllers. I'm no coder, but I feel we can appropriate this for the Gamecube.

Left to my own devices I would use this PS2 to GameCube Controller Converter, which has been reported to introduce zero lag, and re-shell a PS3 controller into a wavebird.

But the PS2 Bluetooth receiver uses 2 parts; the Teensy emulates the controller and receives button inputs from the Raspberry Pi.

I have found a Teensy biased Gamecube controller emulator as well: While I am not going to believe different two controller emulators made by different people for different purposes would be interchangeable out of the box, I wonder if someone who is more specialized in coding could use the above resources to remove the need for a controller converter.

I apologise if this post is too far off topic, but I feel that a DIY Bluetooth receiver would benefit this community much more than some crappy Wavebird knockoffs.

cheese

the tallest memer in town
Staff member
While a custom solution like that would probably be ideal, we're looking for an easy out since few of us actually have coding skills. Me personally, I feel like it would take more time than I'd like to spend on it, maybe some rainy day I'll have some time and do it (or someone else will), but it isn't shooting to top priority...