Question Want to make wii portable don't know how

recently, I was playing Nintendo Land on my Wii U (my sister REALLY wanted to play that game specifically for some reason)
and then it quickly went to all 3 of my siblings and me wanting to play the Zelda and Metroid mini games that need Wii MotionPlus. I have a Wiimote plus that came with Wii Party U and one Wii MotionPlus add on. I know we had another so my brother went to find our other WM+. What he found amazed me. instead of finding a Wiimotion Plus, he found 2 Wiis (one broken because I dropped it when I was really young. they both look the same, though) and our copy of Pikmin that I was looking for about a week ago.
Anyway, it got me thinking about turning one into a portable Wii.
the only issue is. I don't know how to make one, I have no experience in DIY projects, and I know nothing about hardware.
So, can someone please tell me what materials I need and some helpful, noob-friendly information of how to actually put it together.
also, I might have to borrow my uncle's 3D printer for a making a case or something

Last edited:

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
TBH, there is no real noob friendly information. Building a portable console is a very involved process, it takes significant time, money and skill. You're more than welcome to try, but I recommend taking the time to read through the whole Wii Guide Hub, this thread on custom regulators, and as many worklogs and discussion threads in the Wii section as you can before you even THINK about putting your hands to anything. You need to understand the scope of the task before you can undertake it, but you should find everyone here willing to help you if you put the effort in.

As for the best place to start, you could check the google to see if there are any public electronics workshops in your area. They'd be a great place to start learning about the basics of soldering, multimeter use, and voltage/current information.

Last edited: