Question U10 relocation (6 layer) still salvageable?

Hello! newbie here.

I've been reading around the forums for a while and decided to try Noldendo's Wii Miicro as my first project. I've never really touched a soldering iron before this project and recently got one from sparkfun (adjustable temp) along with some other tools. The iron came with a new (sharp tip) which is why there are so many scratch marks (I don't think it cut any traces, still need to check) but I installed BBloader, got some games working, no issues there. Disassembled the Wii, successfully removed the Gamecube memory ports. I went to go desolder U5 and got a bit to excited with solder wick and realized i might have took too much solder with it.

Is there a way to add back solder with some flux paste? is that even recommended? I haven't touched U10 or U9 so I know those are salvageable, but is it worth continuing with this board?

IMG_0093.PNG

Shank

Staff member
Portables
You SHOULD be fine. First, use flux to clean that up. If you don't have flux, buy flux. The 3 legs of the U10 (the bottom side in this picture) should all be shorted together with a big blob and have continuity to ground. Run the U10 wire as normal. The one difference is you need to run a 3.3v wire to the other leg of the U10. So again:
1: Clean up the solder with flux
2: Solder U10 as normal
3: Run a wire from 3.3v to the other leg of the U10

Thanks Shank! Will try asap.

Last question about U10. As I understand it, on the 4 layer board, a trace is cut which allows the top right arm of U10 to reconnect elsewhere, but I couldn't find any information about cutting a trace on a 6 layer board? All the other info for relocating seem to be there, but is cutting the trace necessary on a 6 layer board? I would think from reading about the 4 layer boards, cutting the blue circle would be enough, but should I be safe and extend the cut to the red circle?

IMG_0094.jpg

Portables
In the making