U-Amp wiring

Hello everyone,

months ago i started my own PS2 Portable project and i finally have time to finish it.

The portable comes together well but i still need to figure out the sound.
I bought the U-Amp Board frome the BitBuilt Store but i need help with the wiring. I found the documentation here but I still have some questions.

I'm sure it's pretty straight forward but since I am a beginner in electronics i need to ask unfortunately...

First thing i need help about is the voltage. In the documentation it sais that IVDD for ps2 is 1.8v. But where do i get that from? According to the PS2 trimming guide there is 1.75v somewhere on the borad. So do just need to wire from there to the U-Amp board? Is 1.75v even enough? Or do i need a resistor on other voltage sources?
And what about the 3.3v supply voltage U-Amp needs?

My second question is about the digital sound.
The wiring here is pretty straight forward thanks to the awesome documentation. But do I still need to wire up the Analog Audio R and Audio L when i use the I2S interface?

I hope you guys can help me out. Thanks

cfc_12

Portables
Yes, 1.75v is enough for 1.8v

Yes, 3.5v is fine for 3.3v

I believe, yes, you still need to wire the L & R for digital sound

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
You don't need analog LR for I2S audio, it's just there as an easier option for beginners

Thanks for both the replies

You don't need analog LR for I2S audio, it's just there as an easier option for beginners
When I decide to use analog, I only need to wire LR, 3.3v and ground (and the switches for volume) is that right ?
Is there a disadvantage when I use analog instead of digital in this Szenario?

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
Correct, analog only needs 3.3v, and the "disadvantage" is a minor difference in sound quality

Hey everyone.

I didn't want to open a new thread since i still have a problem with sound.