Question "Refurbishing" my Gameboy Advance. Thoughts?

As I've stated in my introductory post, I am completely new to the world of electronics. However, I've never been known for setting my sights low, so I've got a project in mind for my first. I'm just wondering if you all, experts compared to myself, think it's possible.

Here's the GBA, which I bought for $40 CDN a while back. Those aren't white hairs on the screen protector, they're scratches. It adds a bit of character, but I'd still like to replace it if possible.

So, I'd like to replace the screen with one that is backlit, and perhaps is more... modern. I can barely see the game on this screen, and I don't know whether that's a design flaw of the GBA itself, or if my screen is particularly damaged. I tried to take a picture of the screen for you, but for some reason, the screen looked much better on my phone's screen than it did on the actual GBA's screen, and it was a lot easier to see.

Second, I hate batteries. I don't mean battery packs which are, obviously, also batteries, but the kind you buy in stores and the GBA chews through, causing you to either have to buy more, or put them into the charger. So, I'd like to replace the whole battery area with a rechargeable battery pack. Besides, it seems a small amount of battery acid damage has occurred in and around the battery... holster?

I don't want to add any more buttons, as it's unlikely I'll use this for anything other than Nintendo Entertainment System, Gameboy, Gameboy Color, and Gameboy Advance games.

Am I in over my head? I hope not, but I'll soon find out! Thank you!

Pacal

Portables
RDP 64
I recommend you to replace the screen with the one with backlight the games look way better,I replaced mine a few months ago as you can see here
3E47ECB3-FA47-45A1-98BC-5B0FE2F8470D.jpeg
About the batteries I don’t know if you can maybe somebody else can answer that

GC64

Portables