Question Portable 64 attempt (help!)

Hi there, I'm new here and could use your help and expertise. My background is in mechanical engineering and design, so electronics are a bit flummoxing beyond simple wiring. BUT I got it in my head to turn this N64 carcass I found in a bin into a portable with a custom, hardwood housing. I got the thing functioning, now on to the fun stuff.

I thought I might be able to use this digital picture frame, but routing through the included controller board seems problematic. Is there a way I can bypass it and go straight from the ribbon to composite or s-video?

Attachments

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
Hi there, I'm new here and could use your help and expertise. My background is in mechanical engineering and design, so electronics are a bit flummoxing beyond simple wiring. BUT I got it in my head to turn this N64 carcass I found in a bin into a portable with a custom, hardwood housing. I got the thing functioning, now on to the fun stuff.

I thought I might be able to use this digital picture frame, but routing through the included controller board seems problematic. Is there a way I can bypass it and go straight from the ribbon to composite or s-video?
You have to use a screen and board designed to take composite video. There's no way to make a board designed to take a specific signal type like that to accept composite video, unless it has a marked pin or via.

YveltalGriffin

First Wii U Trimmer
Portables
Hmmm... Well, here's what I gather from your pictures and the datasheet:

The ribbon cable is... odd. Normally, you could buy a driver board for one of these LCDs and plug it in, since nowadays many ribbon cables are standardized. But this LCD has fewer color channels (only 18-bit RGB; most today are 24-bit), and the ribbon cable is split up into two weird half-cables. So no off-the-shelf driver board would fit it as far as I know.