Worklog Super NOTendo

This is such a cool project! I know that the SNES board is fried and that there isn't much use for it otherwise, but wouldn't it be possible to just use a cartridge connecter with a mounting bracket? Or does keeping the SNES motherboard make mounting exterior ports easier?

fibbef

Wizardry V Completer
Gonna hit you with a big shrug there, mate. Mounting a cart slot while yeeting the mobo would certainly provide a lot more internal space, but really all I need is room for the arduino (which there is plenty of space) plus routing wires (again, no challenge). The way I look at it, this way everything is already nicely lined up and I can just use all the original parts; power switch, eject lever, etc.

fibbef

Wizardry V Completer
For a hardware project, I ended up doing way more software troubleshooting than I expected. But I'm not a programmer, so I should have expected more. For a rundown of my foibles, read on. If that kind of stuff doesn't interest you, skip down to the pictures.

I had to rework cheese's code because he had written it to light up an LED when a button is pressed, as opposed to trigger a button press. Buttons, as I'm sure most of you are aware, work by bridging two points, typically a high point to ground. This meant that instead of taking a pin that defaults to LOW and temporarily writing HIGH, I had to do the reverse. Even after flipping the logic, the pins seemed to be writing low pretty much constantly (which I figured by testing continuity to ground with my meter). I may have fixed this by switching every pin's mode to input when not writing low, then switching back to output if that button is being pressed on the controller. I also found out after way too much testing that the data line on my controller 1 port was loose, so the whole input/output switching might not be necessary.