Worklog MP3's Ashida Worklog

MP3

Portables
After the whole G-Boy situation, I still wanted to build a portable and was going to build a G-Wii, but then I saw the Ashida and decided to hold out until I could build one. Now that the files are out I can finally start. I printed the case in Atomic Filament's clear filament, which is a very cool looking translucent white once it's actually printed. I plan to pair this with some blue buttons and sticks and I think it should look pretty nice once it's all together. I still need to sand the edges a bit.
case.jpg

I went ahead and got my controller boards partially assembled. I'm still waiting on a lot of the parts from Digikey. Fedex is being weird and it's taking forever to show up. The castellated pads on the 4layertech boards are really nice. They made soldering them down really easy.
parts.jpg

That's it for now. I'll be able to show more once my Digikey order, batteries, screen, and buttons all show up. This is my first time making a worklog so if I messed up formatting wise or something please let me know.

Gman

RTFDS
Staff member
Can't wait to see all these beautiful ashidas. A tip: take your time making sure all the buttons feel good before closing it up. I had to back off the screw holding on the controller boards a few threads otherwise the buttons are a little pressed in. The screw is only to keep it held in while you flip it over, it isnt mechanical once it is closed.

Reactions: MP3
Portables
Can't wait to see the progress! What a bummer that your digikey order has issues. I just ordered the parts to start an ashida so I'm excited to see more pictures of yours

MP3

Portables
Updates plz, I know you've got new pics to share. ;)