Question How do Boards Typically Handle Voltage Variation?

NLG

I plan on building a PS3 laptop using a superslim model motherboard, and would like to make it run off batteries. I plan on using some of those 3s LiPo's they use with drones and other RC projects, specifically two 3300mah packs in parallel to hopefully get a bit under an hour of battery life (since the super slim appears to consume around 65-80w)

My question is, since 3s lipos vary from 9.6v to 12.6v, would I be able to just directly connect the battery to a 12v line? How precise does this "12v" voltage need to be? Or should I get some 4s lipos and use a step-down converter like this one? What do people typically do when trying to power something that calls for 12v using a lipo battery?

Thanks!

A_s6

Portables
i don’t give a hee ho
i’m a bit of a noob so take this with a grain of salt:
unless your battery output is a constant 12v, you’d want some kind of regulator. if the voltage output is just above 12v then an ldo might be a good choice, but otherwise a buck converter is probably the best

Ekterm

Portables
Wii Laptop, PCii mk A
OP, you'll want to read these if you haven't already:
https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?threads/portables-and-batteries-a-guide-and-explanation.2228/

Disclaimer, I have no specific knowledge of the PS3, just console modding in general, so keep that in mind haha :)

With something that draws that much power, you'll definitely want to look out for the C rating of the cells, explained in the first link.