Question GC+ Cable Pinout

Sanic

I bought a GC+ off a friend when they we're in stock a while ago. I'm trying to wire it up now but I can't seem to get it working. I'm trying to solder a GCC cable to it so I can use it on a Wii U. Do you guys solder to the 5v, D, 3.3v, and GND contacts or to the 6 holes at the top? If it's the 6 holes at the top, which side is pin 1?

I've tried both, but nothing seems to work. A lil help would be appreciated, thanks!

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
just so many i am so cool
Pics of your wiring? The labeled pads on the GC+ should work fine.

Aurelio

ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
Staff member
Portables
If you soldered to the top pads you might have damaged it somehow

Sanic

Don't use the 6 holes at the top. Those are for programming the microcontroller. See the GC+ documentation for a pinout.
To be fair, I'm a noob to this. I couldn't find any documentation on the 6 holes so I figured they matched up with the 6 wires on the gcc cable. It was only after I did that and it didn't work that I saw the dual tact vid and saw how you guys had it wired up.

I would recommend adding "Don't use the 6 holes at the top" to the pinout page so future noobs don't make the same mistake I did.

If you soldered to the top pads you might have damaged it somehow
It got hot when I plugged it in, so at this point I'm sure I damaged it. Time to get another one.

Edit: aaaand they're out of stock again

Last edited:

Sanic

I don't want to sound rude but before buying a product you should do some research on it and at least check to find proper documentation and pin outs of it before testing anything