Worklog Frii Lite

Hey all,

Welcome to my first worklog of my first Wii portable. I have the nasty habit of renaming my device to include part of my name. At home I have Fredbook Pro, a Surfred Pro 3, a Airport Frexpress, you get it... So let's welcome the future member of this family, the Frii Lite!

My background is software development, but my hobby of building computers evolved into building a computer into an old NES case, into a Raspberry Pi into a GameBoy case, into an arcade from scratch. None of these projects had very tricky soldering or electronic requirements. My greatest accomplishment is having the NES controller port on the NES function as a USB port through the original port.

So finishing this project won't be easy, but Covid-19 is giving me quite some extra time to spend at home, together with that and registering for this competition, I'm hoping to push myself to create my first Wii portable.

You could say that I should just build a simple Wii portable for my first portable, but if I'm anything, I'm competitive. So a "normal" build will not suffice.

As the name implies, the form factor will be that of the Switch Lite. At least in the length and width, probably not in depth. But let's see how far I can push it... Since the Lite has a wide screen and for the Wii portable a 4:3 screen makes more sense, I would like to use the gained real-estate for GameCube buttons/layout instead of Switch buttons/layout. I'll have to try my hand on 3D modelling and 3D printing.

Feature/Spec Wishlist
  • USB-C Charging
  • 5" 4:3 screen
  • GameCube button and sticks, except for maybe the shoulder buttons. Might go for the Switch solder buttons, with two Z buttons and double tactile L and R.
  • 4x 18650 batteries or a flat lithium alternative to reduce depth space?
  • internal usb storage space
  • 3d printed frame that matches the Switch Lite in width and height and the smallest depth.
  • headphone jack, maybe speakers
  • RVL PMS
  • GC+ v2.0 Controller PCBs