Fixing Gamecube Zenith Screen Bracket

I wound up blowing a fuse on my gamecube which had a Zenith screen attached. I fixed the Gamecube, but do not know how to fix the screen bracket. The short was caused by using a 12v 3 amp portable battery with a homemade cable.

The bracket board seems simple, but I can't see anything labelled as a fuse. And I'm new to soldering and PCBs in general. Nothing immediately looks blown. Any ideas on where to look or how to troubleshoot this thing?

Thanks!

Edit: my homemade cable was just trying to replicate an Intec cable I have (barrel plug to GC connector). So either I blew it using voltage or incorrect polarity?

Also, the bracket power light is bright but dims when the screen is attached. It doesn't seem like the screen gets the power it needs.

Attachments

Last edited:

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
I wound up blowing a fuse on my gamecube which had a Zenith screen attached. I fixed the Gamecube, but do not know how to fix the screen bracket. The short was caused by using a 12v 3 amp portable battery with a homemade cable.

The bracket board seems simple, but I can't see anything labelled as a fuse. And I'm new to soldering and PCBs in general. Nothing immediately looks blown. Any ideas on where to look or how to troubleshoot this thing?

Thanks!

Edit: my homemade cable was just trying to replicate an Intec cable I have (barrel plug to GC connector). So either I blew it using voltage or incorrect polarity?

Also, the bracket power light is bright but dims when the screen is attached. It doesn't seem like the screen gets the power it needs.
Fuses are marked as F[number] on the board, so you could look for it that way. If you have a multimeter, you can check if a fuse is still good by checking continuity between both ends of the fuse.