Worklog First Portable Aluminum case

Portables
0 :(
Figured it was about time to make a work log instead of post more question the area. To start off let me say I have very little knowledge about electronics. Most of what I'm doing in this project I learned on bitbuilt so thanks. Im hoping to have a aluminum case milled and figure out how to do removable batterys for longer gaming sessions, also i will be using a gc video and a gc+. please forgive me for being a no on and make as many recommendations as you want to

one question I have right now is if anyone knows if memory cards are sensitive about the wire distance to the motherboard?

Portables
I will use that but I also want to keep the original ones so I can load it from wii to gamecube

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
If you're going to trim the Wii and use the PortablizeMii pack, you can't normally use physical memory cards. You'd have to use a stock version of Nintendont AND relocate the MX chip for the GC font data. Then you'd have to boot any game you want to use a physical memory card for manually through Nintendont, you can't use Postloader for it. I don't know how well PM's modified Postloader would play with the stock Nintendont, so it's pretty safe to say you'd have to do all your Gamecube stuff manually through Nintendont, which means changing settings manually every time you want to change video modes or use emulated memory cards. It's a lot of extra hassle.

And to answer your question: Rule of thumb with data wires is the shorter the better.

Portables
I didn't know about the memory card issues after being trimmed, I'll probs just drop that idea but for the case issue I was worried about that too but a few members said it should be fine and suggested I line it kapton tape. I'd be interested to talk to anyone who has done an aluminum case before, as someone did link a finished portable

Aurelio

ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
Staff member
Portables