Worklog First Micro attempt

Status
Not open for further replies.
20180301_230703.jpg
This is my first attempt at all of this, so I'm going to need all the help I can get!
My goal is to shrink a Wii for ease of transport while I travel .
  • Small size
  • Minimum number of "extras" to pack.
  • GameCube and Wii compatibility.
  • "Micro" design (no screen or onboard controls)
  • 5v power supply
  • HDMI out (for hotel use)
  • Integrated sensor leds.
  • Probably 3d printing a case.
Here's what I've done so far.
I've read as many worklogs as I could absorb.
I found a cheap Wii 40 and installed PM.
Decased it.
Relocated U10 (that process sucks)
Relocated the Bluetooth card (that process sucks x10!!!!!!!!)
Sketched out the trim lines on the board.
Received all the parts for the custom regs, a socket for my 5v supply and a rocker switch for power.

So far it boots and runs!
Now it's time to assemble the regs and attempt my first trim.
Before I do that, I'm ready for advice and criticism! I included a photo of my board so far.
I tried to mimic the cut lines used by Gman and Jefflongo. Its a little different than the OMGWTF, so I'll have lots of questions about the wiring. I noticed that Jeff ran a 5v line to a contact near the fan connector (for the usb port?)
Should I snag an old laptop cooling fan?

Let me know if I posted this correctly!

Thought of another question: when building the custom regulators, I noticed that some people use 2 caps, while others only use one. On a non-battery system, is it ok to just use one cap?

Last edited:

jefflongo

Broke BitBuilt
Staff member
Portables
Looks good so far. Have you tested the bluetooth yet? I would try that before you trim. You can just use a candle or a sensor bar plugged into a different Wii to see if your wiimotes still work (protip: you can't sync wiimotes in postloader).