Question Battery powering a PS2

Hey, absolute beginner here! I want to build a PS2 portable (from a SCPH-75004), but I have some concerns. I'm looking to slowly work my way into portablizing the console, starting with making it independent from wall power.

Now what I need to know is, how would I exactly do this? I know I'd need batteries connected in series amounting to ~8.5V, but could I just use any batteries to accomplish this? The "Portables and Batteries" guide recommends 18650 Li-Ion cells, but they are apparently only available with 3.7V. 2 of them wouldn't be enough (I think?), but 3 would exceed the amount needed. Could I use 3 when I simply connect them to a CMB or BMS? Would I need anything else to regulate the voltage down from 11.1V to 8.5V?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Last edited:
So there are a few things to consider first:

Are you using the disc drive or loading from USB and/or ETH? That's actually a big one because it will determine how few cells, and how low of a voltage you can use. The only components that seem to directly use the 8.5 volt rail are the disc drive, power LED, stock fan, and rumble motors. Other than that it goes into regulators to be dropped down to other voltages, but the absolute minimum is 6 volts, as the 7805 regulators drop out below that.

So to summarise, figure out how you'll be loading games.

Jonny

Another thing you should consider is the model of PlayStation you want to use. I highly highly recommend using a 79000 model because they can fit reasonably into a handheld, and you'll get the most documentation/support with it. They're not ridiculously pricey (portablizing is not cheap) usually you can find one for under 30+shipping, especially if you look for ones with broken disc drives. If you use the 79000 model it also solves your power issue, just use the ps2pms. (Or if you want to stick with the beginner trim, then you can go with the 2s bms red board, and a 5 volt regulator)