Worklog 1st Portable Worklog!

Memed

Hello! I am new to the portablizing community, so any pointers before I begin the bulk of my project would be greatly appreciated!
That aside, I am planning to make a Wii portable using the OMGWTF trim and PortablizeMii. I am going to try and make a 7.4v battery pack out of a few Panasonic batteries and a protection circuit. For audio, I've decided on 3ds speakers and a audio amp that can support 15w and 8ohms to each speaker. I think this is enough, correct me if I'm wrong. For a controller, I'll probably just hack up a 3rd party gamecube controller and connect some 3ds sliders and DS Lite buttons, but I am still unsure of what case to use. I will probably go with a ZN-40/45 from Polycase, or TRY to use an SL-68P if I am feeling ambitious. As for screens, I'm probably going to sort through the BOM and Ebay listings until I find something that works with the case I choose. I don't think I will be including a headphone jack, as I don't think I would find much use for it. For wiring, I think I'll use shielded wire (Don't know what gauge, suggestions would be appreciated) for A/V, and 32 gauge or IDE for everything else.

So far I've:
Bought a Wii (4 Layer)
Bought capacitors, resistors, batteries, etc...
Watched PLENTY of videos on basic electronics; soldering, voltages, amps, other stuff
Went through numerous guides and worklogs
Worked on Dremeling skills

If I forgot anything, don't hesitate to let me know.
Wiish me luck!

Last edited:

JacksonS

Portables
've decided on 3ds speakers and a audio amp that can support 15w and 8ohms to each speaker
3DS speakers should probably have under 1W delivered to them, so 15W is way too much. You may be better off with some generic 1W speakers that can take a little more power than 3DS speakers.

I'll probably just hack up a 3rd party gamecube controller and connect some 3ds sliders