Question Help with first N64

Hello everyone,

I am new to the portiblizing community and have just started my n64 portable using the n64 advance trim guide.

I am having difficulties getting it started, im sorry if some of the photos attached are horrifying compared to the amazing stuff I've seen here, but I've tried to follow the guides to the best of my understanding.

I relocated the PIF by hot gluing it to a bread board, I soldered magnet wire to the locations indicated on the guide and ran them to individual solder points, then glued them in place on the bottom and soldered glob them on top. I then ran magnet wire to the locations as indicated on the guide. All locations indicated on the guide show continuity from the different chips and points on pin to the PIF it self.

The video was soldered to the point indicated on the guide.

I am at a loss at this point. The only part in the guide I did not understand was the connection of C2 and C3 to the 3.3v and ground. Am I supposed just connect 2 .1uf capacitors to any ground and 3.3v?

If anyone notices where I messed up, please feel free to let me know.

Thank you

Attachments

A few things that stick out immediately.

The 3.3v spots in this diagram need to be connected with 22awg wire. I see you have used the magnet wire, this will not do.

Also make sure all the components in the PIF schematic are present. If any of the resistors are not relocated, it won't turn on.

What about this part? I did not do this because I wasn't sure if I had to connect the capacitors to between any ground and 3.3 v

Attachments

Gman

RTFDS
Staff member
it should be fine without those.

Hey guys, so I reviewed the guide more and added wires that connect the grounds and 3.3v to the pins and then verified continuity

Changed out the 3.3v lines from magnet wire to 24 awg wire.

Added resistor shown in the n64 advance guide

Added a headphone jack