Question Noob here, looking for some forums that can get me started on wii portables.

Timo43

Hey! So I checked out the wii trimming guide and have a general idea of how to make a wii portable (looked at a work log) but some forums about the specifics of certain parts of the process (mainly wiring and where everything connects to) would be useful as I have very little electronic experience. I’ve looked around BitBuilt some but I couldn’t find any. Does anyone have some forums that could help? Also, if you have made a wii portable, about how much should I expect it to cost? (Ballpark, I know it might vary massively) Finally, are PMS board and GC+ board needed? Is there a way to make a portable without them? Sorry for the newbie questions, and thanks for reading/answering this!

Portables
https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?threads/the-definitive-wii-trimming-guide.198/ this pretty much contains all the information of where all the wires go to so not sure what kind of different forum you are looking for.

As for costs it depends on what you already have / are willing to spend i would say. do you already have a soldering iron and what not?
https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?threads/portablizing-bom.367/ the bitbuilt BOM has some stuff listed so you can ballpark it a little. Still working on my portable but i think i spend around 300+ euros already but had to get a new iron too.

You could technically use PTH's instead of the PMS but the PMS seems to be to easier and go to way.

Timo43

https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?threads/the-definitive-wii-trimming-guide.198/ this pretty much contains all the information of where all the wires go to so not sure what kind of different forum you are looking for.

As for costs it depends on what you already have / are willing to spend i would say. do you already have a soldering iron and what not?