Worklog First Wii Project

kyler

I've been reading a lot of stuff on the site and lurking around a lot of the other worklogs of complete noobs like me while collecting parts and tweaking my design. But I've actually done some work on some things and I like feedback so,

In the words of our favourite plumber, here we go...

BOM
-Home made case
-OMGWTF-ed motherboard with MX chip and Bluetooth relocated
-LEDs for a sensor bar
-7 inch LCD with driver board (ER-TFTV070-5)
-PMS from the shop
-4 18650s in parallel
-GC+
-VGA port, USB port, headphone jack, 7 pin connector, Wii's original power jack
-Fan and heat sink from a sad broken laptop. Speakers also came from that laptop
-Generic 3W audio amp board.
- D pad, joy sticks, and L\R buttons from a broken aftermarket controller. I've got tact switches and a 3d printer for the rest
-Boost converter that I'm working on to take the 1S4P batteries and turn it into 12V for the screen and few other spots where I need 12V. It's still too rough and untested to share. Not actually needed. LCDs lie. 5v is fine.
- patience and deep breathing.

I've made the case from a scan of the switch pro controller because my goal is to make something that won't hurt my mangled, RSI-ridden hands. The pro controller is actually one of the few controllers that I can use without much regret, so that's where I started from. I then found a 3d mock up of the switch itself, because I knew I wanted something with a similar screen size. With a bit of digital hacking and slashing, I made a case.
case pics.jpg
case pics 3.jpg
case with parts.jpg
case with parts 2.jpg
those ports tho.jpg

It's got a little battery cover type thing on the back, covering up the 5 ports on the system: a VGA out, USB, power, headphones, and a 7 pin connector. Because aesthetics. or something.