Question First Wii Portable: What Battery should I use?

Hi. This is my first Wii portable and its more like a wii laptop really. I just looking for advice on what battery I should use to power the wii, the screen powers itself so thats taken care of. I've been doing some reading and most people use Li-ion cells to power Wii's but I've never used Li-ion batterys before and they seem to explode easily so im not too sure ill use them.
Here are some options im considering :
https://www.amazon.com/1800mAh-Rech...1PvXzWwWXL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch&th=1

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/Super-Power...628474?hash=item2abd9a3d3a:g:t4IAAOSwztVcCApn

I just need advice really, if these are not good options, tell me. All help is appreciated! :D

cheese

the tallest memer in town
Staff member
I'm not too sure about the first link, but I can for sure tell you that ebay link is a scam, that battery will have much smaller than advertised capacity.

What screen do you have that is powering itself? You may be able to expand that battery and use it for the wii as well

I'm not too sure about the first link, but I can for sure tell you that ebay link is a scam, that battery will have much smaller than advertised capacity.

What screen do you have that is powering itself? You may be able to expand that battery and use it for the wii as well
The screen im using is from an old in car dvd player it runs of 6 AA batterys, ive taken out the disk drive to save on power and weight and it still works fine. Also thanks for the tip I had no idea they were scams xD

cheese

Staff member
The screen im using is from an old in car dvd player it runs of 6 AA batterys, ive taken out the disk drive to save on power and weight and it still works fine. Also thanks for the tip I had no idea they were scams xD
It would probably be better to power the screen off the same batteries you power the wii from. Are you planning on trimming/custom regulators?