Discussion Ideas, questions, etc, Post em here!

cheese

the tallest memer in town
Staff member
I'm new here, and I wanted to learn how to do these kinds of things. I have some experience with these kinds of things, as I've connected up a bunch of things to the Raspberry Pi I have at my dad's, and wanted to do more than that. One of the big questions I have is what are the basic supplies for doing this? I know I'll of course need a soldering and desoldering iron, but what else would I need? One of the first projects I want to do is repair my 3DS XL, as it has an internal screen issue.
On top of the iron you mentioned (make sure to get one that has a station, as the ones that plug straight into the wall are generally just plain bad, either the nicer Hakko 888D or the cheaper Weller), you'll need some screwdrivers to take the things apart along with some other hand tools, and replacements for things you find are broken. If you want to make a portable console, some commonly used parts are listed in the BOM.

Hello friends! I just recently found these forums through Shank Mod's youtube video for the Kill Mii lol. I've actually been wanting to try modifying some of my old electronics around and thought this would be a fun place to start :) The first project I wanna attempt is 'portabilizing' my old PS2 (SCPH-75001), albeit a daunting one for sure. I have so far, a soldering iron (idk if I'll even need to use it?), ordered a 3.5" screen (HiLetgo 3.2" IPS TFT LCD Display ILI9481 480X320) and some screwdrivers and such for getting started. I also will be trying to use this plastic first aid kit as its case (~5.5"x4.5"x1.5" i think?) which is in the picture. Nice to meet you all! :D
View attachment 7888