Discussion Wii Power Management System (open source)

I am going to buy a couple of boards (without components). The minimum quantity I can order is 10. Does someone also want a board. The price I am going to pay for one board is $1.40 International shipping is €1.45. I am not doing this to make money but just to get rid of boards I will never use.

When you get the boards you could start a thread on the selling section, people interested will go there and open a pm so you make your deal

Gman

RTFDS
Staff member
For anyone interested in an assembled pcb, they will be for sale soon. I will give more details as it comes closer.

Though I wonder, is this a succsessor of Aurelios WiiHUD PowerMii?
[answer is no]

Thanks for answering and sorry if this is something I should not have asked.

If you want to make something like this, first you need to learn a PCB design software
PCB design/layout is definately an important aspect to it. I am not experienced, so this might be wrong:
Is it easier to learn it by trial and horror error without going through some advanced courses, than designing the schematic (and how to use which component and such)?

the datasheets of the parts you use basically tell you how to design the circuit
That was the part I was more curiose about. I just saw the "BQ25895M" that seems to be responsible for "battery charge management and system power path management" and "various safety features". In retrospect, it makes sense to use an IC for it and not hack something together that may or may not work.

And now that I think about it, if the schematics are partally given, the PCB layout migth be harder, especially so because of the size constraint...

Gman

RTFDS
Staff member
[answer is no]

Thanks for answering and sorry if this is something I should not have asked.

PCB design/layout is definately an important aspect to it. I am not experienced, so this might be wrong: