Question Should I use the Gamecube disc drive or Wiikey... or?

Hi! I'm new to portablizing and BitBuilt! I haven't done anything yet but only been studying things and how I would do it. One problem I keep running into is how will I load games onto the Gamecube. One option would be the normal Gamecube disc drive but it's kind of bulky but the easiest one to install. Another option is the Wiikey, it sounds nice using SD cards instead of discs allowing me to load many ISO files but I can't find anywhere to buy them from. All websites are either out of stock or not trustworthy to buy from (Should I just wait maybe?). Another idea I could do Is using the sliding Wii disc drive since it is compatable and just make a Gamecube laptop, but I can't find any posts that actually did it. Videos of people that have done used a Wode and Wii Key fusion so I'm wondering If I have to use a mod chip to use the Wii disc drive because then It just knocks that idea down if I can't get the WiiKey.

Nold

real emulation, no hardware
Staff member
2021 1st Place Winner
Portables
5 + 1*π

Stitches

2 and a Half Dollarydoos
Staff member
Portables
Yeah, sadly, you aren't likely to find any Wiikeys or WASPS in the wild for a reasonable price anymore. If you want to make a portable that plays GC games, your best bet is a Wii.

It’s also a pain to have to wire at least 25 wires for a wasp or a disk drive not to mention the fact that you have to wire to an FFC for the wasp. With the Wii you only have to wire 4 wires for usb and it’s a lot easier.

cheese

the tallest memer in town
Staff member
While I agree that you probably should go the route of a Wii, I'll actually answer your question :P

Don't bother waiting for a wiikey or similar disc drive replacement chip, they won't be coming any time soon. You can wire a Wii disc drive to a gamecube using the same wiring diagram as a wiikey (since the wiikey has the same pinout as the wii dd). This page has a decent explanation as to how to do so.