Question Wooden case psu heating question

Hi my project is somewhat questionnable because there is no real benefit in doing so but I am doing it anyway so here it goes:

I'm making a custum wooden case for the Wii without trimming the board, only removing the disc drive and I want to include the psu in the case. I'm also going to relocate pretty much every ports and buttons. I plan on laying all flat, with the wooden box being approximately 15cm x 28cm x 6cm.

Is the psu going to cause overheating issues or not? Should I leave the plastic case on it or not for highest chance of it working?

I got the US wii with gamecube controller ports.

I'm a bit of a noob, thank you in advance!

Last edited:

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
just so many i am so cool
Wood should be perfectly safe to use as a Wii rehousing. Wood takes a decent amount of heat to deform or cumbust, and a Wii isn't going to putt off that much heat. The PSU doesnt actually get super warm, it's the CPU and GPU that need to be cooled. Just make sure you either keep the cooling system the Wii has, or put on a different one that's sufficient.

Good luck with this! Impractical projects are the best projects, so I'm interested in seeing what the final product looks like.

Thank you for your quick reply!

Just to make sure, my question was not really about the wood, but more about the power supply and main board being confined in a single box with only the stock fan! And also part of my question was if i should leave the psu in its plastic case or not, is it even safe to remove that plastic case? Also it would be a bit more work but maybe I could install a second fan? what do you suggest? Thanks again!

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
EDIT: I'm dumb, as always.

Last edited:

cheese

the tallest memer in town
Staff member
Thank you for your quick reply!