Question AV Trouble

Portables
IMG_0660.JPG
IMG_0661.JPG
Okay so I’m on my second Wii now (I accidentally fried my first one), and I’ve run into some trouble.
I opted not to trim my Wii because I’m not very experienced with that type of stuff.
So on to the problem: I soldered the “ground” and “composite” wires from the Wii to the “AV2” and “ground” pins on the monitor, but when I turned on the screen and plugged in the Wii nothing happened!

So far what I think may have gone wrong is:
  • No the right gauge wire
  • Bad soldering job
  • Composite and AV may not be solderable to each other
Pictures are at the top (sorry they are sideways)

Attachments

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables
just so many i am so cool
Did you try AV1? I have that screen and I'm not sure how you switch it to AV2 or even if the two AV ports are switchable. Worth a shot at least.

EDIT: You should also use shielded wire on the composite line. Interference could distort or negatively impact your image, although I'm not sure if interference could keep you from getting any image.

Also be sure to check and see if ground might be shorted to either AV spot elsewhere on your screen.

Portables
Did you try AV1? I have that screen and I'm not sure how you switch it to AV2 or even if the two AV ports are switchable. Worth a shot at least.

EDIT: You should also use shielded wire on the composite line. Interference could distort or negatively impact your image, although I'm not sure if interference could keep you from getting any image.

Also be sure to check and see if ground might be shorted to either AV spot elsewhere on your screen.
I tried AV1 as well, but with the same result. Also, neither wire is shorted to the adjacent wire.

Forgive my n00bishness, but what exactly is shielding?

GingerOfOz

no wario
Staff member
2020 2nd Place Winner
2022 3rd Place Winner
Portables