Worklog First Wii Portable (unnamed so far)

Hi guys!

I've been lurking around the forums here the past month after seeing madmordas video "Worlds Smallest Gamcube". That video just popped up in my "suggested" tab on youtube and since then I've been obsessed with portabilizing. I've been reading all the guides I can find on here like: The definitive wii trimming guide, electronics videos 101 (cuz I'm a noob), a guide to custom regulators, etc.

From all my research I've made a rough draft of my first attempt to make a wii portable. I'm hoping to get started as soon as I'm let out of school for the summer holidays.

My idea is to create a portable with the following:

- An OMGWTF-trimmed board and the G-wii case made by Gman himself.

- Relocating bluetooth module (and maybe the mx-chip)

- Using the "Wii power management system", again, by Gman.

- Using a GC+ board and fitting gc controller ports on the sides of the G-Wii (might require resizing)

- x4 18650s in 1s4p configuration. (Haven't found a good sources to get the cells from yet).

- Headphone jack + internal speakers (Using a PAM8803 audio amplifier board)

- Dual tact switches for 3d-printed triggers.

- 5 inch screen + vga mod

- AV or VGA out with a switch that switches between built-in screen output and AV or VGA output. This switch would also swap the controller mode to external. Just like Jefflongo's portable.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now this, to me, sounds quite ambitious cosidering the fact that I technically have no previous soldering experience. However I'm very keen on learning and practising. Aside from the soldering skills still being in development, I'm not sure how I'm going to get these models 3d-printed. Me still being in the Swedish equivalent of freshman-year and my school not letting me access their 3d printers is proving quite cumbersome.