Question Questioning the possibility of turning a Gamecube controller into a Joy Con, need help from veterans

Biome

I'm new to this, but I think I understand it in concept. I just need some advice on how to go about doing this. Any and all advice one rewiring the buttons and joysticks is greatly appreciated!

Matthew

Formally known as Chaos
Portables
Are you wanting to turn the GC controller to use on a Switch? Or do you mean that you are wanting to just make the GC controller look like a joycon? Because if that's the case, then you simply need to put a GC+ in a Joy Con shell.

Biome

I'm looking to turn a GC controller into a pair of functional Joy Cons

ShockSlayer

the real
Portables
please do not ask!!!! I will NOT respond
Can't you just buy an adapter and plug it in?

Matthew

Formally known as Chaos
Portables
Honestly you are not being very descriptive and as such, it's very unclear what you want. I can't tell if you are wanting to making a GC-looking pro controller or genuinely want to put a GC controller inside some joycons.

If it's the latter, than you will need extensive programming, reverse engineering, and understanding of transmitting signals wireless, and then programming the Switch to understand those signals and while homebrew for the Switch is underway, it's not really at a place that a beginner can jump in.

Biome

@ShockSlayer I know, I'm actually in the process of turning a GC into a dock and having the ports work, but I want to make this as a fun project
@Stitches I am looking to take a gamecube controller and cut it in half so I can take it's layout and use it as a pair of Joy Cons for use with my Switch. Sorry if I was unclear before

ShockSlayer

the real
Portables
please do not ask!!!! I will NOT respond
Tearing apart joycons is expensive, but you'd need to do that, then do the same with a GC controller. Make a custom case that fits around the part of the joycon assembly, and also the GC controller.