Portablizemii only loading Gamecube games, the two possible points of failure

Portables
I don't mean to be posting too many question threads but I'm new to portablizing and learning as I go, if I'm posting to many question threads please let me know. In any case on to my problem. I've installed Portablizemii on the Wii motherboard today and so far I've gotten Gamecube games to show up and run complete with artwork. The problem is that's all I've been able to get working. Wads I install with ShowMiiWads aren't showing up, Wii games boot to a frozen black screen, and going to the emulators page gives me the message "the file emu.dat seems to be old You need to refresh the cache" (I've tried refreshing, it does nothing) I first did research into the black screen with Wii games and found out it's a problem with my USB drive, seems simple enough, but I'm not quite sure which part of the drive is failing. Let me explain. For my USB drive, I'm using an onn brand 256gb micro sd card and a Digipower micro sd to USB adapter. I've read that sd card/USB drive compatibility with portablizemii can be spotty, but I don't know if the sd card is the issue, if the USB adapter is the issue, or if they're both to blame. If anyone knows which one is to blame please let me know so I can replace it asap, I want to make sure everything is working correctly before I trim the board

Gabobo

Did you install BootMii as an IOS? That happened to me. I forgot and had to hunt down a BootMii IOS and install it with MultiModManager.

Portables
Did you install BootMii as an IOS? That happened to me. I forgot and had to hunt down a BootMii IOS and install it with MultiModManager.
I can't remember if I did tbh. Do you have the BootMii file? The download section of their website 404s and doing the letterbomb exploit again seems kinda cumbersome

Portables