Question GameBoy Macro help!

Hi there!

I am very new to all of this and today I started work on a GameBoy Macro, due to its supposed low difficulty.

I followed steps on 3 different guides to make sure I knew what to do, and for some reason when it‘s all closed back up, it doesnt turn on.

I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Attachments

Doom

Modelrater
Estmemed Member
Portables
Always 1/2
Your resistor looks a little goopy, clean up the joint just in case there's a short. I'm looking at the picture in my phone so not the greatest of quality for me to view, but there may be some stray solder on the pad to the right.

Otherwise, test with just the back case on to hold the battery in place. One of mine that I made kept shorting out on something when I put the top of the case back on.

Also of note, even if you said it doesn't turn on, check the sound with some headphones. It may just be an issue with which screen the gba is outputting to. I was pulling my hair out on a couple that just had audio bc I forgot that you change the display screen on the ds menu lol. Best to try and boot it as many ways as possible, ds cart, gba cart, and without any carts just as a test.

make sure the lcd is properly seated, that can cause it to not boot

The resistor for the top screen delete definitely has too much solder, and is shorting both points rendering the resistor useless. Without that resistance, the system thinks there's a problem with the top screen and won't boot.

When you close the shell, be real careful with the volume slider and power switch. Make sure that both are lined up with the plastic seats and close gently. The power switch is notorious for snapping off if it's not lined up and too much pressure is applied.

Last edited:
The resistor for the top screen delete definitely has too much solder, and is shorting both points rendering the resistor useless. Without that resistance, the system thinks there's a problem with the top screen and won't boot.