Worklog First N64 Portable

Hi all!

Long time lurker, first time portable builder. For now I'm calling it the M64 (M for mobile) but the name is subject to change. I intend on making this thread a worklog but also hope it could be a place to bounce ideas off of more experienced members of the forum.

A bit of background on me, I'm a mechanical engineer who focused my studies on design (CAD modelling) and applications in FDM (traditional 3D printing). I've designed multiple 3D printers from scratch and doing so has enabled me to expand my knowledge of wiring and circuitry.

Here are my goals of the project
  • Have a portable N64 (obviously) with internal expansion pack and a cartridge slot. To keep cost down I decided against an internal everdrive. I already have the x7 so I can just swap it between the portable and my home console.
  • Entirely 3D printed case.
  • 3D printed charging dock with controller ports and tv screen hookup inspired by @Booshman.
  • I'd like to take this project as an opportunity to start learning PCB design via Eagle. Even if I don't use any custom made PCBs in the final result, I'd like to start thinking about it and honing some skills for future projects.
  • Hopefully be able to have a comfy controller layout so I can practice my Super Mario 64 speedrunning on the go (I'm by no means good, but enjoy running none the less). This means having a good stick and a well placed Z button.

Here is my current list of acquired parts:
  • Nintendo 64 Rev05 board with minimum trim (generously donated by a friend)
  • Original N64 controller and buttons
  • Expansion pack (in the mail, currently using a regular jumper for testing)
  • 4x 3000mAh 18650 Li-Ion batteries
  • 2k resistor for Pin 8 on the PIF

So, what have I done so far besides copious amounts of research? Here we go.